Leadership Development Workshops

Beginning in Fall 2012, the Office of Faculty Development will offer the workshop series titled “Leadership for a Diverse Campus.”

In Spring 2010, the Developing Diverse Departments project began offering a leadership development workshop series for women and faculty of color. The leadership development workshop series consists of three panel discussion interleaved with three concurrent discussion sessions designed to motivate tenured women and faculty of color to enter into line leadership roles (e.g., department head, provost, chancellor).  Nine faculty members will attend three panel sessions and engage in three discussion sessions which will review readings focused on the themes of each panel. We expect that faculty participants will increase their skills in career planning including self-discovery related to becoming a leader, learn more about best practices in increasing diversity, and develop strategies for becoming change agents and how to sustain their new skills.  This series will give participants the opportunity to engage in discussions with department heads, deans, and university leaders and to learn about the benefits, challenges, and skills needed in line leadership positions.

Participating Faculty Members (Year 1):

  • Maxine Atkinson, Sociology and Anthropology
  • Anne Baker, English
  • Andrea Cardinal, Crop Science
  • Lisa Guion, Agricultural and Extension Education, Interim Assistant Dean for Diversity
  • H.C. (Sunny) Liu, Animal Science
  • Karen Norwood, Math Science and Technology Education
  • Maria Oliver-Hoyo, Chemistry
  • Tao Pang, Mathematics
  • Sheila Smith-McKoy, English, Director of Africana Studies

Participating Faculty Members (Year 2):

  • Montse Fuentes, Statistics
  • Heidi Hobbs, Public and International Studies, Director of Master International Studies
  • Cynthia Istook, Textile and Apparel Technology and Management
  • Elizabeth Loboa, Material Science and Engineering, Director, Cell Mechanics Laboratory
  • Leda Lunardi, Electrical and Computer Engineering
  • Margery Overton, Civil, Construction and Environmental Engineering
  • Maria Pramaggiore, English
  • Jean Beagle Ristaino, Plant Pathology
  • Laura Taylor, Agricultural and Resource Economics, Director, Center for Environmental and Resource Economics Policy
  • Sandra Yuter, Marine, Earth, and Atmospheric Sciences

Participating Faculty Members (Year 3):

  • Kelly Albada, Communications
  • Rajade M. Berry-James, Public Administration
  • Natalie Bullock Brown , Film & Interactive Media
  • Maria Correa, Population Health and Pathobiology
  • Joel Ducoste, Civil, Construction, and Environmental Engineering
  • Karey Harwood, Philosophy and Religious Studies
  • Audrey Jaeger, Leadership Policy and Adult and Higher Education
  • Wendy Krause, Textile Engineering Chemistry and Science
  • Traci Lamar, Textile Technology and Management
  • Marian McCord, Textile and Biomedical Engineering
  • Juliana Nfah-Abbenyi, English
  • Paola Sztajn, Elementary Education
  • Laurel Williams, Clinical Sciences

Resources for Workshop Participants